Producing a Sketch Comedy Show!

“Oh my god, something is happening” – Michael Scott

Yes, you read that title correctly,  I Sage Cameron, am finally diving into Sketch Comedy.

Since the dawn of Sophomore Year in High School, I’ve loved comedy, and improv. It’s the passion that never burns out. I’ve always seen Sketch Comedy on the horizon, but like a warrior looking at an army of 20,000 orcs, I kept my distance.

Sketch Comedy Defined:  comprises a series of short comedy scenes or vignettes, called “sketches“, commonly between one and ten minutes long. Such sketches are performed by a group of comic actors or comedians, either on stage or through an audio or visual medium such as radio and television.

Sketch has always been a bit intimidating to me for a few reasons. I’ve never had the connection of writing + comedy in my head before. They have for the most part, always been two separate areas of my life. Writing, being blogging, entrepreneurial endeavors, etc. I’ve decided to take hiatus from the whole entrepreneurial journey for awhile, so if that’s why you’ve been following my content, I’m sad to say I’m going to make a pivot in my branding. I want my channel, blog, personal brand, etc to be about Self Growth and Love, and Comedy, Improv, and performing in general. Whether that’s opinions, tips, suggestions, reviews, is up in the air and everything is possible.

Getting back on track, comedy has always been improv for me. I once took a stand up class, but when I performed I absolutely bombed, and from there on out I feared written, rehearsed comedy.

I thought that ship had sailed, but it seems as though there was no captain on that ship, and the tide has helped it drift back to shore. I’m boarding that ship of written comedy.

How am I boarding that ship? I am boarding that ship of sketch comedy with an amazing friend of mine, Kyle Kenneth Henderson the third. Okay, not the third, but Kyle Kenneth Henderson. I made “the third” part up, for emphasis.

Kyle and I are writing our very first sketch show. Now, this may not be the most conventional way to get into sketch comedy, to just write an entire show, and perform it, but never the less, I could sincerely not give one shit about how I get into it.

We have met with a local theatre company in Seattle, WA, The Pocket Theater. This company is one of the reasons I believe that world peace can one day be achieved, they are awesome. They offer a space to aspiring artists, however that might look, and for free of charge.  We talked with one of the two full-time employees that work at The Pocket, Sarah. She was one of the most wonderful, validating human beings I’ve had the pleasure of sitting down with.

Long story short, we have the space reserved, and are show opens July 1st, 2017, and we close on our 2nd performance on July 7th, 2017.

It’s going to be a duo show, with sketch comedy, and improv in between sketches.

I’m very excited to start down this path with one of the few friends I know has my back until the day that I die. I cannot wait, and I hope to see you there!

Thank you so much for reading this blog post, I appreciate your attention and support! If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment below.

Improv Mindset Toolkit: https://goo.gl/iUKbfq

Leave a Reply

