Doing the Hard Things in Life.

“Your COMFORT ZONE is Your DANGER ZONE” – Stefan James

I’m in the stage of my life right now where there is an abundance of pondering, figuring things out, analyzing everything. I feel overloaded frequently by choosing which path to take, even if it’s just which way to drive home from work, I feel like my life depends on these small decisions. I blow these things into the sky, just thinking, thinking and thinking. It feels like I’m running in circles over, and over again.

I’ve been doing this simple thing to feel better when I’m down and it’s one of the most simple concepts I’ve ever applied. It’s simply not taking the easy way out. I’m done taking the easy way out. It’s a sure fire way to find depression, mediocrity, and all things but greatness. I’m not interested in it. Not in the slightest.

This is not to say that I’m always going to take the hardest way out, or that I’ll never take the easy way out again, this is just a reminder to myself that I will feel better if I do the hard things in life, rather than the easy things.

  • If given the option to go home early from a job, stay the for the extra 3 hours.
  • Love it instead of hating it. Loving is much more difficult than hating.
  • Fail. It’s easy to live a life safely, without allowing failure.
  • Love yourself. It’s hard.
  • Care for others before yourself. Take yourself out of the picture.

These are just some thoughts that I’ve been pondering lately. I’ve been super in my head lately. Is that a good or bad thing? Maybe just a thing? I don’t know.

It’s been hard to define what my compass is, but I think I may have finally found it. That is the problem; defining a specific compass. I feel like I’m spreading too thin, not going in the right direction, off course etc.

I’ll get there. I know I will.

Thank you for reading this short blog post. I find it helpful when I see people in my similar situations and I know I’m not the only one who’s been here mentally. You’re not alone my friend.

 

Leave a Reply

