Playing Under the Umbrella to Create Relationships

I WISH I HAD KNOWN THIS EARLIER. This is a great physicality concept that comes from Viola Spolin, the Improv Mother.  I don’t use this little tip nearly enough, so I’m hoping that writing a blog post about it will make it easier to snap to in situations where it would be useful.

Playing Under the Umbrella refers to the physical space between you and someone else. This is great in social situations. Imagine that you see a cute girl in the distance sitting down reading a book, and you want to approach her- but how? Well that part is up to you. Ask for directions, go up and say something along the lines of “Hey I saw you, and I now I’d kick myself later if I didn’t tell you that you are very cute.” Once you get your foot in the door, try to stay under that imaginary umbrella to change the vibe. It is absolutely vital to make this not creepy. As I’m writing this, I find that to be the biggest struggle, not being creepy about it.

So I’m Under the Umbrella… Now What?

This is where it really takes flight… IMPROVISE! Who cares what’s next, you have got to try different things out and see what works. Remember Yes And. Create Conversations out of nothing, the way to get better at that is to just improvise and keep working at it. If you keep constantly doing this, you’ll find things that work. Never stop finding things and searching for the stuff that works. You can create a “Playbook” as Barney Stinson would say, but the real secret is to never stop improvising and never stop searching.

If you talk to enough people, things will start to happen to you in life, some good and some bad, but mostly good. So hey, go talk to more people by apply this small principle. Lighten up, have fun and go make some friends.

I know this was a short post, but I wanted to share this concept without having to fluff it up. I hope you enjoyed!

Get the Improv Mindset Toolkit 2.0 -> http://goo.gl/iUKbfq

Leave a Reply

