The Magic of Moderation.

“The choicest pleasures of life lie within moderation” – Unknown

Moderation, the simplest answer to the most complex questions. The Answer, Moderation. The Overlooked, but Over-Powerful Concept Known as Moderation. I could do this for DAYS. Coming up with titles for these blog posts is so fun, I really enjoy just brainstorming these so called “titles” It’s crazy because it’s such a small part of the entire blog (the titles is what I’m talking about here) yet it impacts how many people read the content I put out. It’s small, yet impacting; I’m about to draw a connection here… forgive me. LIKE MODERATION! Yes, I know that was sincerely cringe worthy. Please read the rest of this blog post.

So one of the biggest that I drew from this summer, is moderation. I can’t remember when exactly I was told this, but I know it was when I was in Idaho on summer vacation with my family. My Nana (Grandmother) is always one for putting her two cents in my jar that has a piece of tape on it with the words “Relevant Advice” written on it. I don’t really know how she does it, but she always has the most impact with her words on me. I mean to say that out of everyone in this entire world, she is the one that I really listen to, and it’s not like I’m really trying to! It just happens, if she tells me something random that has no importance in my life, I revisit that same thing at least for 3 years. Her words stick to me like gorilla glue. That’s both a blessing and a curse, but overall it’s served me well. Sometimes if I really think about it, it scares me. Like this seriously has the possibility to be voodoo or some scary supernatural thing. She is the one who told me about moderation. Now as I said, I can’t remember the exact instance when she told me about it, but I’m sure it went something like this: It was a hot summer afternoon, and we got ice cream, and I said something about how I wish Ice Cream was healthy. She then replied “Nothing is bad in Moderation” I’m sure that I just brushed it off at the time, but it ended up revisiting me 2 weeks later. About a week ago, I discovered what moderation looks like in action and I’m going to share that with you.

Moderation in Dieting:

It’s a pretty simple concept when it comes to dieting, and it has a great impact. Simply order the smallest size available when you go out to eat. Do not ever order the “large” Lets be honest, the large this day in age is ridiculous. More ridiculous than cat shoes. Yes, I went there, and you shouldn’t be surprised. How is it that this day in age everyone has to order the largest size? Why must you do that? I haven’t heard a single answer that is supported, or should be paid attention to. I absolutely cannot believe it took me 18 years to realize that the small size is still probably a little too big. It took me getting to the point of being overweight to realize the bullshit in the sizing of portions. Bottom line is this, if you use the concept of moderation and ordering the smallest sizes, you will lose weight. This is my most current way of losing weight, god knows I’ve tried so many within the span of like 4 months. Literally try just using moderation, I think you’ll be surprised by the results you find.

 

Moderation and Minimalism:

I love Minimalism. If you don’t know what Minimalism is, well first off you’ve been living under a rock your entire life, and secondly I’m certain I’ll be blogging about this more frequently. What Minimalism means to me is getting rid of everything unnecessary that doesn’t serve you, mainly being materialistic things. I challenge you to live a life of Minimalism and Moderation. Minimalism is the vehicle and Moderation is the fuel. Whether that’s gasoline, diesel, or corn oil, the choice is yours. Moderation isn’t black and white, you take this simple principle and you make it what you want it to be. Don’t cower away from this small task. Define what moderation is to you.

 

Another key part of moderation is with spending your money. I think of what I buy, before I buy it. Think about this: Will I use this item in 5 years? We tend to impulse buy way too many things that we don’t need, and in the heat of the moment we get really excited about it, harness these feelings and don’t disappoint yourself, but don’t buy it. Seriously, just don’t.

To be perfectly blunt, start being meaningful. Buy a Journal, Laptop, Pen, and very few clothes that you love wearing. That right there, is all the physical materials you really need. If you have a passion such as a sport, hobby, or leisure activity, that’s totally okay. I have a Penny Board that I absolutely love, and a basketball as well.

So the moment you’ve all been waiting for, here is the magic of moderation: You will begin to value the things that really matter in life. Relationships, Thoughts, Emotions, Connections, People. These are the things my friend that you will not have forever. These are things that are so rare, and so precious. I love the absolute freedom that comes with moderation. Join me on this journey. Order the smaller size.

Thank you Nana, for this little lesson that’s made a big change.

 

Get the Improv Mindset Toolkit 2.0 Right Here for free -> http://goo.gl/iUKbfq

 

One thought on “The Magic of Moderation.

Leave a Reply

